SEVP Fever win State Cup for second straight year

SEVP Fever win State Cup Honors second year in a row!

State Cup Champs Awards.JPG

Team Photo:

Bottom (L-R): Ryan Gruss, Mike Heitzmann, Daniel Kwon, Nicolas Crockett

Middle: Garrett McLendon (C), Evan Monseu (C), Griffin Kowalewski

Back: Head Coach Paul Kowalewski, Adam Schaeffer, Justin Hennen (C), Michael Kramer, Paul Shorkey, Justin Snyder, Nick Riedlin, Joe Shuey, Kieran Collien


Not Pictured: Assistant Coaches Matt Arrildt and Wayne Gruss, Goalie Coach Johan De Vicq, Manager Terrie Kowalewski, Tournament Coordinator Scott Hennen, Videographer Larry Heitzmann


Some Notes:

·         18 goals scored in 4 consecutive wins

·         Cup final featured both Maryland Region 1 Premier League teams (Severna Park Fever and MSC Magic)

·         MSC has reached 4 of the last state cup finals with 1 win

·         5 different Fever players scored in the final for 6 total goals

o   Kowalewski, Crockett, Kwon (2), Gruss, Heitzmann

·         Second consecutive State Cup Title for the Fever

·         The Fever will represent Maryland in the Region I Championships in Kingston Rhode Island, June 26 – July 2

o   Here the fever will compete against 16 teams comprised of all State Cup winners and the Region I League Champion

·         If the Fever advance in the Region I Championships, the National Championships are at the MD Soccerplex, July 21-28


The Fever stormed back after giving  up a goal in the first minute, to score 2 goals in a two minute span.  Griffin Kowalewski fought through the center of the defense to win a loose ball and evened the score at 1 on a well placed scoop shot into the left corner, alluding the diving keeper.  Minutes later, the Fever took control of the match after a beautiful build up saw a cross by Captain Evan Monseu find Nicolas Crockett at the far post for a 2-1 lead.  Just before the half, Ryan Gruss was fouled in the box and awarded a Penalty Kick, which Daniel Kwon calmly converted for a 3-1 halftime lead.


The second half was all Fever.  Ryan Gruss opened the second half scoring converting a flick from Griffin Kowalewski for a 4-1 lead.  After MSC pulled one back for a 4-2 score, Mike Heitzmann corralled a loose ball in the box off of a corner and  drove home a goal on a beautiful turn in the box.  Daniel Kwon completed the scoring after he received a feed from Nick Riedlin and blasted a 22yd left footed strike into the lower right corner.


Justin Snyder made several incredible highlight reel saves to keep the Magic at bay.  Keeper Paul Shorkey didn’t get to play this match, but is and will be a large contributor to the Fever’s success this season.


The back line of Evan Monseu, Michael Kramer, Justin Hennen, and Nicolas Crockett played sound, physical defense, with the midfield of Garrett McLendon (C), Griffin Kowalewski, Michael Heitzmann, Connor Arrildt, and Kieran Collien controlling the middle of the field.  Strikers Ryan Gruss, Josh Ridgley, and Adam Schaeffer proved to be dangerous the whole match against the Magic.


**** Background on the US Youth Soccer National Tournament ****


The US Youth Soccer National Championships serves as the crown jewel of competitive youth soccer as the nation’s top youth soccer teams, in the Under-14 through Under-19 boys and girls brackets, compete for the US Youth Soccer National Championship title. 


Each summer US Youth Soccer crowns a boys and girls national champion in each of its six age divisions (Under 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19).  The finals are a culmination of a year-long series of competitions at the state and regional levels.  The US Youth Soccer National Championship Series provides approximately 185,000 players on more than 10,000 teams from US Youth Soccer’s 55 State Associations the opportunity to showcase their soccer skills against the best competition in the nation, while emphasizing teamwork, discipline and fair play.  US Youth Soccer State Championships (often referred to as “State Cups”) are held in each of the 55 US Youth Soccer member state associations, some in the fall, but most throughout the spring.  Champions are crowned for boys and girls in various age groups between Under-11 and Under-19 age.  Champions in the Under-14 through Under-19 age divisions advance to represent their state association at their respective regional competition.


Four regions, commonly known as Region I (East), Region II (Midwest), Region III (South) and Region IV (West), host the next level of play in the national championships tournament structure.  The US Youth Soccer Regional Championship tournaments are truly tournaments of champions, as only teams who have won their state championship or who are invited can participate in their regional tournament.  Regional champions in the Under-14 through Under-19 age divisions advance to the US Youth Soccer National Championships.

Posted on May 5, 2014 .